How Long Do I Have To File a Defective Product Recall Injury Claim

I’m David Salazar with the Safety Guardians. We provide a lot of information here on the blog as well as on our YouTube channel and in my Facebook group.

We talk about the latest recalls and defective products on the market, a lot of which you actually have in your home. If you’ve ever been seriously injured or you think you may have a product that’s super dangerous, please let me know.

Today, I want to talk about something that came up in the group. Somebody asked me how long they had to file a defective product claim. That’s going to vary from state to state. I’m in Texas. It’s two years from the date of the injury here.

 

The statute of repose

However, you also have to look at what’s called the statute of repose. The statute of repose means that if you’ve been injured and it’s been… Let’s just say you had the product for 10 years and you were injured in the 10th year of having the product. You have two years from the date of injury. Does that mean two years from the date you purchased the product? No, two years from the date of the injury that you’ve received from that specific product.

 

Each state is different

Each state varies. There are very different statutes of limitations for every single state. And there are also different limitations on the statute of repose. Please keep that in mind. It varies. I’ll give you an example. In Louisiana, I believe it’s only one year for the statute of limitations. However, the statute of repose, I believe, is 13 years.

 

If you have questions

If you have any other questions, please feel free to give me a call. My name is David Salazar. I enjoy talking with you about all this. If you have any questions, let me know. We’ll talk soon.